Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal located in South Asia. It is located in the Himalayas and bordered to the north by the China, and to the south, east, and west by the India. With an area of 147,181 square kilometres (56,827 sq mi) and a population of approximately 30 million. Kathmandu is the nations capital and the largest city.The mountainous north has eight of the worlds ten highest mountains, including the highest point on earth, Mount Everest, called Sagharmata in Nepali or Chomolungma in Tibetan. It contains more than 240 peaks over 6.000m above sea level. By some measures, Hinduism is practised by a larger majority of people in Nepal than in any other nation. Buddhism, though a minority faith in the country, is linked historically with Nepal. Many Nepali do not distinguish between Hinduism and Buddhism and follow both religious traditions. There are 3 different buddhist traditions: Himalayan Buddhism, Buddhism of Kathmandu Valley (mostly Mahayana and Vajrayana), and also the Theravada Buddhism. A monarchy throughout most of its history, Nepal was ruled by the Shah Dynasty of kings from 1768, when Prithvi Narayan Shah unified its particular kingdoms. However, a decade-long civil war by the Communist Party of Nepal (Maoists) and several weeks of mass protests by all major political parties led to the 12 point agreement of November 22, 2005. The ensuing elections for the constituent assembly on May 28, 2008 overwhelmingly favored the abdication of the Nepali monarch Gyanendra Shah and the establishment of a Federal Multiparty Representative Democratic Republic